The European Union CSIRTs network is a network composed of EU Member States’ appointed CSIRTs and CERT-EU (“CSIRTs network members”). The European Commission participates in the network as an observer.

The EU CSIRTs network was established in 2016 by a set of EU cybersecurity rules commonly referred to as the NIS Directive. In 2023, the CSIRTs network was further strengthened by the NIS2 Directive in order to contribute to the development of confidence and trust and to promote swift and effective operational cooperation among Member States.

ENISA is powering the CSIRTs network by providing the Secretariat team, infrastructures and tools to enable effective cooperation and continuous daily operation and information sharing.

The mission of the European Union CSIRTs network includes to

    • exchange information and build trust at EU level
    • discuss and, where possible, implement a coordinated response to an incident
    • provide EU Member States with assistance in addressing cross-border incidents
    • cooperate and exchange best practices in incident response
    • provide assistance to the CSIRTs designated for the coordinated disclosure of vulnerabilities which could have a significant impact on entities in more than one EU Member State.
CSIRTs Network Members